Not a desperate move: passport jacket

I finally got my new passport today. I’m glad for the following reasons:

  • I hated my picture in my old passport. Imagine having to live with it for 5 years…at least driver’s license expires after 3 years [or is it 4 years?]!
  • Because almost everyone is already using the brown passport, I felt in minority having the green, outdated passport.
  • I can travel for sure again [as long as the budget allows]!

Most of all, I’m excited to see how the new one would “fit” into the passport jacket I made a week ago. I know, I know…pare-pareho lang naman yun. But still, I wanted to see how the passport would look in its unique protective cover.

At the height of my fascination with metallic paint when I decorated my luggage,  I searched for more items to “victimize.” And in my quest to personalize what I can, the plain, black passport jacket caught my eye, and my creative juices were flowing out again!

Here is the outcome:

passport-jacket

The initials were the design of a friend; I just decided to add the stripes at the last minute.

I don’t know how to describe the design, but it looks kind of eighties to me, don’t you think? I decided to do away with the vector design, as was what I did with the luggage, because the jacket was smaller, and more intricate designs would be harder.

And how I love the finished product! It is very me! And as usual, I didn’t mind the imperfections because it give the jacket its unique personality. On top of it all, I just love the look of the violet metallic paint on the surface! Not so much bling-bling, but it has a shiny effect that I love!

Now, no one would have to nerve to pick up my passport because, just like my luggage, malayo pa lang, I know it’s mine!

18 thoughts on “Not a desperate move: passport jacket

  1. I love your passport jacket. I have a pink, hello kitty jacket, which makes my passport easy to spot. So the Philippines is changing from green to brown. I was wondering why?

    kayni’s last blog post..An Old Rivalry

  2. cute passport jacket KG. You made that galing naman 🙂

    My passport is still the green one. Nakita ko nga yung passport na bago computerized na pati photo, ingit ko hahaha!

  3. Nice. Join the creative swap’s next round. =) I agree the design is quite 80-ish and also reminds me of Austin powers. I still have the green passport. That makes me feel like a minority. Lol.

  4. your creativity never fails to amuse me talaga. pwedeng business yan KG…pandagdag na ipon pang-travel? lol

    and same with wits, i still have the green passport. feeling so behind.

  5. kayni, i’m not sure why they changed to brown. will research on that.

    jeanny, pag green diba parang feeling mo napag-iiwanan ka na? handwritten pa yung info…

    rico, soon…

  6. upto6only, i used the leftover metallic paint from my luggage project. 🙂

    wits, nadali mo! sakto. austin powers nga! 🙂

    yummybite, yes, i’m thinking of selling…kaya lang feeling ko di pa ang benta ang level nya eh! 🙂

Leave a comment